Error Corrector Trivia: Claire Selton’s Name

You may have noticed that I have a rather unhealthy obsession with citing my favorite books, movies, TV shows, etc. in Error Corrector. It’s something I can’t help. When I see or hear a particular scene, name, or plot point, my mind automatically tries to connect it to my own stories. Harlene’s mentor is a perfect example.

Claire Selton is the name of a largely unknown villain in Superman. She does appear in Justice League a few times, but her character was truly explored in only one episode in Superman: The Animated Series. She is a young woman with pyrokinetic abilities. When she was a teenager, she was whisked away by government agents who codenamed her Volcana and tried to turn her into a living weapon. Anyone who has read Steven King’s Firestarter will instantly make the connection. But Claire escaped and turned to stealing in order to survive.

I was fascinated by Volcana, and deeply regretted that she didn’t make anymore meaningful appearances in Superman. I believe her character should have been explored more, and that’s why I named Harlene’s mentor after her. Granted their personalities are quite different (Volcana is flirtatious and passionate while Claire is more cool and controlled), but their appearances are nearly similar. Here’s a picture to give you an idea of what Claire looks like.

3 responses to “Error Corrector Trivia: Claire Selton’s Name

  1. WOAH……Ok now I see what you mean about Naruto.
    I’m shocked though. It seems Haku is Darth Maul’s long lost twin or something. They are both just tools for someone else’s will. To quote Daemon, well I’ll be damned to the deepest hole in hell.

    • I’m glad you’ve changed your mind about Naruto.

      But in my opinion, it is an insult to Maul to call Haku his long-lost twin. Haku is a million times weaker than Maul. He was willing to trade every last shred of his self-respect in order to end his isolation, and he was willing to let himself be killed because he couldn’t defeat just one enemy. Maul (at least the one in my story) does not give up right away. Even after losing everything related to Sidious, he still searched for another purpose. And even after Harlene abandoned him, he still held onto hope, no matter how torturous the isolation was. What’s more, Maul wants Harlene’s respect and is willing to earn it. Haku on the other hand doesn’t give a shit about being respected. He told Zabuza to think of him as a weapon, not a person.

      Needless to say, I hate Haku. He’s one of my least favorite characters in Naruto.

  2. oh, well when you put it that way, of course. After all, Maul doesn’t know Sidious’ real opinion of him, he believes hes a true apprentice. It takes me several times of seeing/reading something to understand any of the underlying stuff. Oh something else I want to say, I recently overheard my mom reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone to my younger sister. I listened to that for a while, then got thinking of Error Corrector. I think if your work was ever compared to J.K. Rowling’s you would win hands down. When your original novel comes out I am definitely buying it.

Leave a Reply

