Error Corrector: Revisions

Most of my classmates were (to put it delicately) not too fond of my Professional Writing professor. Which really is a shame since, while tough, she really knew her stuff. I know I’ll be quoting her lessons more than once on this blog.

This post deals in rewrites.

“Writing if fifty percent rewriting.”

…Okay, maybe a lot of people have heard that quote before, so it may not be as original as I thought it would. But when I took Professional Writing, my professor made sure to hammer that particular lesson into our skulls. It’s a lesson that I took especially to heart when I glimpsed over a few chapters of Error Corrector 1: The Phantom Menace. I’ll be honest: there are a lot of parts of that book that embarrass me quite a bit. Yes, I wrote it just after turning eighteen, yes, I still think it’s a lot better than the previous draft some of you had the misfortune of reading. But now when I look over it, I cringe at the poor grammar and clumsy sentence structure. The contrivances even more so. I really need to rewrite it and Attack of the Clones, too.

However, I won’t be doing that until the series is done as a whole. I barely have enough time to work on fanfic as it is, and my readers are far more interested in new chapters instead of revised ones. Also, there is the fact that I don’t know how a lot of stuff is going to happen until I write it. For example, I don’t know if Harlene’s friends have personal mentors, I don’t know exactly how they interact with characters in their reality, and I also don’t know who many of the other Error Correctors are. It will come to me in later chapters/books, but in revising now, I may write something that I will regret later. As in, I’ll only create unnecessary problems for myself.

But here are some ideas for revisions that are stewing in my twisted little mind.

1. The Error Correctors need to be put through some kind of test before they are initiated. Surviving in a slum and possessing strong survival skills/displaying above-average intelligence isn’t enough. I firmly believe they’ll be tested by the Interface itself. As in, how their bodies and minds react to the actual virtual world. Maybe that’s how the reality “chooses” the Error Corrector like the wand “chooses” the wizard.

2. Harlene should communicate with her friends while they’re all in their realities. Great way for character development and to remind us that Star Wars isn’t the only reality out there. But like I said, I don’t know how her friends deal with their realities/characters yet so it will have to wait.

3. A prologue as to how the world changed to what it is in the present. Yeah, I’ve already explained that, but it would make a great short story rather than just exposition. It may also serve as a replacement for the current prologue at the beginning of The Phantom Menace. Sorry, guys. I know a lot of you are very fond of that prologue, but the truth is, a lot has changed since I wrote it. I first thought of that prologue when I was sixteen and that was before I even wrote the first draft of The Phantom Menace. There’s a very good chance that scene will never happen in a future book. Yes, Vader will still possess a deep loathing for Harlene, but that may be the only thing that stays the same.

Anyway, those are my ideas for revisions for the time being. I’ll be sure to post more as they come to me. Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

